SASAA Distinguished Long-Term Contribution Award

Established in 1971

The South Asian Studies Association (SASA) and its journal South Asia were both formally established in 1971. They were the outcomes of the growth in teaching and research on South Asia that had developed over the previous 15 years.

In the year 2022, the richly deserved Distinguished Long-term Contribution Award was conferred to Robin Jeffrey, Marika Vicziany, Frank Conlon, Vivien Seyler, and Ian Copland for their long-term contributions made to the work of SASAA and the field of South Asian studies.